Fire Department

Irrigon Rural Fire Protection District was formed in February 6, 1946. It was and still is an all volunteer department. What started out as strictly a fire department has now evolved into fire and medical service. The medical service includes ambulance transport plus personnel trained at multiple levels, from basic EMT to Paramedic. The department currently has fifteen active volunteer firefighters and seven active volunteer medics.

Irrigon Rual Fire Protection District serves a population of approximately 1900 and covers approximately everything from Umatilla-Morrow County Line on the east to Patterson Ferry Road on the west; and Columbia River on the north to Depot Lane on the south. They also have mutual aid agreements with all of the surrounding fire departments in Umatilla, Morrow, and Gilliam Counties.

In addition to their regular duties, the department is active in the community with many programs, for example, public educations in the schools during Fire Prevention Week, Watermelon Festival, and Christmas Baskets for families in need.

Burning permits can be purchased at the City Hall for $6.00. The burn season is from October 1st to June 30th.

Board Members:

Mark G. Calbick (Chairman) Janet M. Cooley (Secretary)  Burrel L. Cooley (Member at Large) Cynthia Turner (Member at Large)  Lynn J. Hobbs (Member at Large) Dan Young (Member at Large) Fire Chief: Larry D. Burns